Another bunch of fame-hungry wannabe’s

As if The Valleys, Jersey Shore and Geordie Shore weren’t enough. MTV’s brand new Ex on The Beach has come out with a bang. As I scrolled down my twitter feed on the night of the first episode, my friends couldn’t stop raving about it saying how entertaining it was. I watched the trailer and could already see the resemblance to MTV’s Geordie Shore. 3 things I learnt from the first 5 minutes of the show: 1) My friends are all idiots, 2) Why are they all topless (not that I was complaining) and 3) The girls need feeding with proper food not fame.

Ex on The Beach is a reality TV series broadcast on MTV. It features 4 single women and 4 single men enjoying their summer holiday. Then all of a sudden, one by one, they are each joined by their exes. It is either a chance for some to fix their relationships and start fresh or a chance to revenge on them face-to-face as they flirt like there is no tomorrow.

Don’t get me wrong, I think the idea is good. But I’m just sick of the sights of narcissists on television thinking that they’re celebrities because of reality television shows. I’m sorry, but it is obvious they’re not going to be very nice people. Remembering that the category the show falls into is ‘REALITY TELEVISION’, it really makes me question- which parts are real? The beach is real, the house is real, is that all? Because the people certainly are not real. The four guys are clearly gym fanatics looking like they’ve been blown up with a balloon pump, and the girls look like they’ve been starving themselves for the past few weeks.

As they flirt and bitch, the unforgettable narrator Andrew Maxwell tries to exaggerate the tension by keeping the audience up to date with where the next ex is, this part is also pretty laughable. Like a lot of shows now a days, they use a tablet device to communicate with the cast and the producers. So on Ex on the Beach, there is the dreaded ‘tablet of terror’ which is used to tell couples when they have to go on a date, or to send 3 house mates to the beach to meet one of their exes. Then suddenly, we see an ex appearing out of the ocean- it’s literally just like that.

I’m not going to sit here and say I won’t be watching the next episode, because I will. It makes me laugh and is an interesting plot idea, and the whole idea that the people aren’t real make it even more annoying because the more the audience rant, the more publicity it will get, and the more ideas MTV will get for their next programme on fame-hungry wannabes.

-460 words

ex-on-the-beach-cast

 

Leave a comment