Dexter Finale *No Spoilers*

dexter

What do you do with a psychopathic serial killer who is also a hero? Do you give him a happy ending or do you put him in jail?

Dexter, a series that started in 2006 had a total run of 96 episodes. Now that’s successful television. Michael C. Hall or should I say ‘Dexter’ himself, was also an executive producer of the series which is pretty impressive. But it was sad to see that my Netfilx marathon came to an end. Dexter became a daily routine, I would watch no fewer than 3 episodes a night.

The final episode was so intense, I admit that I cried a little- maybe that’s because I’m a girl, but who cares, the story is emotional to say the least. May I just say that the directing is so on point, the audience see exactly what they need to keep the suspense up all the way through the episode. Perfect directing! The narrative was so necessary that it gave closures to everyones relationships and gave the audience chance to imagine what would be happening next. Again, the serial killer of the final series (season 8) was found and Dexter did what he had to do. But the biggest twist and shock of the series was that Dexters last victim was somebody he loved very much.

The season finale focused on Deb and Dexters relationship from both points of view. This is where the emotions came out. Dexter was portrayed as the hard faced serial killer who didn’t really express himself, but this episode definitely switches his role slightly.

At the end of the finale, I was happy more than anything. Although I have read many negative reviews about the ending, but in my eyes it was an outstanding job. The audience saw exactly what they needed to see. It is neither a happy nor sad ending, it is just right.

-312 words

Leave a comment